Vytegra united museum
Vytegra united museum was founded in 1913 as a museum of local fauna under the Vytegra non-classical secondary school. In 1918 the museum was reformed into the museum of nature and geography. Since 1937 the exposition of the museum is placed in the building of the former church of the Purification of the Virgin.
Sections of the museum:• History of the development of Vytegra land fr om the primitive society till 1917.
• History of the Soviet society of 1917-1940.
• The land during World War II.
«Northern weaving», «Copper-casting plastic», «Poets, writers and scientists – our countrymen», «In the world of fairy tales» (carving on wood, applied art).
In 1998 one of the halls of the museum wh ere the exposition of nature was placed was passed to the Vytegra orthodox community for church services. The unique collections of icon painting of 16-18th centuries and painting, manuscripts and old books, fauna, collections of photo, books, personal things of poet Klyuev, collections of numismatics and ethnography are in the museum stock.
Branches• Museum «Nikolay Klyuev»
• Museum of history and ethnography
• Museum «Water routes of the North»
• Museum «Submarine B-440»
Address: Sovetskaya str. 1, Vytegra, 162900 Vologda Oblast
Tel: +7 (8246) 2-11-93
Museum «Submarine B-440» is a unique museum located inside the submarine. The exposition of the museum is very similar to the real environment that surrounds the submariners during their service.
The exposition includes equipment and arms that was used in this submarine during its service and elements of submariners everyday life. An operating periscope is placed in the central section of the submarine.
The excursions are accompanied by noise effects imitating a torpedo attack, diving and the work of diesel apparatus.
On the lower deck, in the former accumulator’s pits is located the museum exposition on history of submarine-shipbuilding and military history of the submarine B-440.
On this deck in the conference hall the visitors can see video about submariners and history of the museum.
Visitors can go for the unique excursion on the upper deck and in the conning tower.
Expositions:• Exhibition of ship lanterns
• Exposition devoted to the history of naval costume
• Exposition devoted to the submariners of «Kursk»
• Exposition devoted to submariners who served in submarine B-440
Address: Komsomolskaya str. 15, Vytegra, 162900 Vologda Oblast
Теl./fax: +7 (81746) 2-67-29